In Florida, there are two motor vehicle insurance laws: the Financial Responsibility Act and the No-FaultLaw. It is necessary for you as a driver to understand these laws because if you do not have the proper insurance, you can lose your driver ‘s license and your vehicle"s registration and you would have to pay high costs to get them again.
The Financial Responsibility Law
The purpose of the law of financial responsibility is to require that the owners and drivers of motor vehicles assume financial responsibility for damages or injuries they may cause to other people in a car accident.
This law requires each person to have bodily injury liability insurance at the time the following occurs:
A DUI fine resulting in a revocation.
These cases require the following minimum insurance coverage:
- $ 100,000 Personal Injury Liability.
- $ 300,000 Bodily Injury Liability for two or more persons.
- $ 50,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL).
If you do not have insurance coverage to comply with the Financial Responsibility Act, your driver ‘s license and/or license plates will be suspended for up to three years. You will have to pay a restitution fee and you will need to show the Department a certificate of insurance on Form FR-44 for three years from the original date of the suspension to regain your driving privilege.
A suspension for having too many points against your driver ‘s license.
An accident in which you are to blame and injuries have occurred.
A revocation for being a Regular Traffic Offender.
A revocation for any offense where this department is forced to revoke its license.
You must have the following insurance coverage as a minimum:
- $ 10,000 Personal Injury Liability (BIL).
- $ 20,000 Bodily Injury Liability to two or more persons.
- $ 10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL), or
- $ 30,000 Combined Individual Limits
If you are involved in any of the above violations (excluding DUI) and do not have insurance coverage to comply with the Financial Responsibility Act, your driver ‘s license and/or your license plates will be suspended for three years as a maximum. You will have to pay a $ 15 restitution fee and you will need to show the Department a certificate of insurance on Form SR-22 for three years from the original date of the suspension to regain your driving privilege.
In addition, if you are the driver or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident for which you are at fault, this department may require you to pay the damages before restoring your driving privilege.
Under this law, in order to protect yourself and others, you must have insurance coverage for all motorized vehicles you own or drive, including motorcycles.
The No-Fault Law
It is mandatory in Florida that motor vehicle owners with four or more wheels to purchase a no-fault insurance. However, taxis and limousines are exempted from this law. Vehicles that have stayed for at least 90 consecutive or non-consecutive days during the last 365 days must avail of the insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in Florida. The following is the minimum coverage:
$10,000 of Personal Injury Protection
- $10,000 of Property Damage Liability
Insurance policy with coverage issued in Florida is also required to buy a license plate and registration for four-wheeled vehicles. It is also required that you notify the state anytime you renew, fail to renew or cancel the insurance. Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in suspension of driver"s license and license plate for up to three years.